Stiftung Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover (TiHo)

Piscine orthoreovirus 3 is not the causative pathogen of proliferative darkening syndrome (PDS) of brown trout (Salmo trutta fario)

ORCID
0000-0002-1149-1613
Affiliation
Institute for Infectious Diseases and Zoonoses, Department for Veterinary Sciences, LMU Munich, 80539 Munich, Germany. robert.fux@lmu.de.
Fux, Robert;
Affiliation
Institute for Infectious Diseases and Zoonoses, Department for Veterinary Sciences, LMU Munich, 80539 Munich, Germany. daniela.arndt@micro.vetmed.uni-muenchen.de.
Arndt, Daniela;
ORCID
0000-0001-7014-0277
Affiliation
Institute for Infectious Diseases and Zoonoses, Department for Veterinary Sciences, LMU Munich, 80539 Munich, Germany. martin.langenmayer@lmu.de.
Langenmayer, Martin C.;
Affiliation
Bavarian Environment Agency, Unit Aquatic Toxicology, Pathology, 82407 Wielenbach, Germany. julia.schwaiger@lfu.bayern.de.
Schwaiger, Julia;
Affiliation
Bavarian Environment Agency, Unit Aquatic Toxicology, Pathology, 82407 Wielenbach, Germany. hermann.ferling@lfu.bayern.de.
Ferling, Hermann;
ORCID
0000-0002-5092-8179
Affiliation
Institute for Medical Microbiology, Virology and Hygiene, University Medical Center Hamburg Eppendorf, 20246 Hamburg, Germany. nfischer@uke.de.
Fischer, Nicole;
Affiliation
Heinrich Pette Institute, Leibniz Institute for Experimental Virology, 20251 Hamburg, Germany. daniela.indenbirken@leibniz-hpi.de.
Indenbirken, Daniela;
ORCID
0000-0003-0940-7045
Affiliation
Heinrich Pette Institute, Leibniz Institute for Experimental Virology, 20251 Hamburg, Germany. adam.grundhoff@leibniz-hpi.de.
Grundhoff, Adam;
Affiliation
Institut für Virologie und Immunbiologie, Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg, 97078 Würzburg, Germany. lars.doelken@uni-wuerzburg.de.
Dölken, Lars;
ORCID
0000-0003-4890-3164
Affiliation
Fish Disease Research Unit, Institute for Parasitology, University of Veterinary Medicine, 30559 Hannover, Germany. mikolaj.adamek@tiho-hannover.de.
Adamek, Mikolaj;
GND
1130157075
ORCID
0000-0002-2303-8533
Affiliation
Fish Disease Research Unit, Institute for Parasitology, University of Veterinary Medicine, 30559 Hannover, Germany. dieter.steinhagen@tiho-hannover.de.
Steinhagen, Dieter;
ORCID
0000-0001-6143-082X
Affiliation
Institute for Infectious Diseases and Zoonoses, Department for Veterinary Sciences, LMU Munich, 80539 Munich, Germany. gerd.sutter@lmu.de.
Sutter, Gerd

The proliferative darkening syndrome (PDS) is a lethal disease of brown trout (Salmo trutta fario) which occurs in several alpine Bavarian limestone rivers. Because mortality can reach 100%, PDS is a serious threat for affected fish populations. Recently, Kuehn and colleagues reported that a high throughput RNA sequencing approach identified a piscine orthoreovirus (PRV) as a causative agent of PDS. We investigated samples from PDS-affected fish obtained from two exposure experiments performed at the river Iller in 2008 and 2009. Using a RT-qPCR and a well-established next-generation RNA sequencing pipeline for pathogen detection, PRV-specific RNA was not detectable in PDS fish from 2009. In contrast, PRV RNA was readily detectable in several organs from diseased fish in 2008. However, similar virus loads were detectable in the control fish which were not exposed to Iller water and did not show any signs of the disease. Therefore, we conclude that PRV is not the causative agent of PDS of brown trout in the rhithral region of alpine Bavarian limestone rivers. The abovementioned study by Kuehn used only samples from the exposure experiment from 2008 and detected a subclinical PRV bystander infection. Work is ongoing to identify the causative agent of PDS.

Cite

Citation style:
Could not load citation form.

Rights

Use and reproduction:

Export